Greater Prairie-Chicken Booming Tours

Don’t miss this rare opportunity to visit a Greater Prairie-Chicken booming ground at the height of the booming season every spring. You will witness the majestic ballet of the Greater Prairie-Chicken as they dance for dominance. FHDC staff will accompany you on your trip and provide all the insight you need.

Group Size & Pricing

Price includes group transportation to the booming ground from the Discovery Center and light breakfast. Limited to 7 participants per trip. Open to ages 18+. Ages 10-17 may be accompanied by an adult.

IMPORTANT: All guests must be capable and comfortable hiking up to half a mile over uneven prairie terrain in the dark with headlamps (headlamps provided).

Members: $45 | Non-Members: $50

Need a place to stay? The Fairfield Inn Manhattan, located next to the Discovery Center, is offering special hotel rates for program participants. Ask for the "Discovery Center Rate."

Click the tabs below for program dates and important program notes.
Greater_Prairie_
photo courtesy Noppadol Paothong
  1. Program Dates
  2. Important Info

Spring 2018 Dates

*All available dates are sold out.  Please check back with us next year to reserve a spot for 2019!

Saturday, March 17 -- SOLD OUT
Wednesday, March 21-- SOLD OUT
Saturday, March 24 -- SOLD OUT
Wednesday, March 28 -- SOLD OUT
Saturday, March 31 -- SOLD OUT
Saturday, April 7 -- SOLD OUT
Saturday, April 14 -- SOLD OUT

Rain Dates below apply for trips cancelled due to weather:

Wednesday, April 4
Saturday, April 21
Saturday, April 28

Custom trips available: Have a group of seven participants but no date that works?  We can work with you to develop a custom trip.  Subject to staff availability and weather conditions. Call 785-587-2726 or email fhdceducation@cityofmhk.com for more information.